Notification Settings

Subscribe to one or all notification sources from this one place.


Subscribe to our newsletter to get the day's top stories sent directly to you.

Walsall's Erhun Oztumer named in PFA League One team of the year

Walsall playmaker Erhun Oztumer has been named in the PFA League One team of the year.

Erhun Oztumer celebrates
Erhun Oztumer celebrates

The 'Turkish Messi' has bagged 16 goals for the Saddlers this season and will be hoping to add a few more as Walsall battle against relegation.

The 26-year-old scored his first career hat-trick in the 3-0 win at Southend last month, but has struggled to recapture that form in recent games.

Oztumer's contract expires at the end of the season with fans resigned to losing the star regardless of Walsall's league status.

PFA League One Team of the Year

GK - Dean Henderson (Shrewsbury Town)

RB - Nathan Byrne (Wigan Athletic)

CB - Charlie Mulgrew (Blackburn Rovers)

CB - Dan Burn (Wigan Athletic)

LB - Amari'i Bell (Blackburn Rovers)

MID - Bradley Dack (Blackburn Rovers)

MID - Erhun Oztumer (Walsall)

MID - Nick Powell (Wigan Athletic)

FWD - Danny Graham (Blackburn Rovers)

FWD - Jack Marriott (Peterborough United)

FWD - Will Grigg (Wigan Athletic)

The rest of the team is dominated by Wigan and Blackburn with Peterborough's Jack Marriott and Shrewsbury's Dean Henderson the only othjer players outside the top two.

Most Read

Most Read

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News