Take That musical The Band coming to Wolverhampton

By Rebecca Stanley | Entertainment | Published:

Take That fans will be treated to a musical starring some of the band's top songs when it comes to Wolverhampton next year.

Howard Donald, Gary Barlow, Mark Owen, Robbie Williams and The Band. Photo by: Jay Brooks

The Band, which is coming to the city due to overwhelming public demand, is a new musical about what its like to grow up with a boy band.

It was produced by Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Mark Owen and Robbie Williams, who formed Take That in 1990 with former member Jason Orange.

It tells the tale of five 16-year-old female friends which follow a group in 1992. They are then reunited 25 years on and try to once more fulfil their dream of meeting their favourite boy band.

The musical, written by English dramatist Tim Firth, stars Rachel Lumberg as Rachel, Alison Fitzjohn as Claire, Emily Joyce as Heather, Jayne McKenna as Zoe. Joining them as cast members will also be AJ Bentley, Nick Carsberg, Curtis T Johns, Yazdan Qafouri and Sario Solomon - collectively known as Five To Five (winners of BBC’s Let It Shine), as 'The Band'.

AJ Bentley, Curtis T Johns, Sario Solomon, Nick Carsberg and Yazdan Qafouri in The Band. Photo by: Matt Crockett

The show also stars Faye Christall as 'Young Rachel', Katy Clayton as 'Young Heather', Rachelle Diedericks as Debbie, Sarah Kate Howarth as 'Young Claire', Lauren Jacobs as 'Young Zoe', Martin Miller as Jeff and Andy Williams as Dave.

Take That have had 28 top 40 singles and 17 top five singles in the UK, 12 of which have reached number one. They have had seven number one albums in the UK, and 37 number one albums internationally.

Robbie left the band in 2012 followed by Jason in 2014. Gary, Howard and Mark have since continued Take That as a trio, releasing full-length albums III and Wonderland to critical acclaim.


In 2016 Robbie returned to the band to perform at the Brits Icon Award concert and once again in 2017 for the finale of BBC show Let It Shine.

The Band comes to Wolverhampton's Grand Theatre from February 26 to March 2, 2019.

AJ Bentley, Yazdan Qafouri, Sario Solomon, Nick Carsberg & Curtis T Johns. Photo by: Jay Brooks

Tickets for the show go on sale to Friends Of The Grand from 10am on Friday, January 12, 2018.

They will then be on sale to the public from 10am on Monday, January 15, 2018.

To book tickets or to become a Friend Of The Grand and gain priority booking, visit the theatre in person, call 01902 429212 or see

Rebecca Stanley

By Rebecca Stanley

Entertainment journalist for Express & Star and Shropshire Star. Contact me:


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News