Express & Star

Joao Moutinho takes top prize at Wolves awards

Joao Moutinho was crowned player of the season at the Wolves end of season awards tonight.

Last updated

Portuguese midfielder Moutinho joined for just £5million last summer and has been the heartbeat of the Wolves midfield, producing a string of classy displays.

He beat Jimenez and Diogo Jota to the award, voted for by fans.

Moutinho said: "I try to do my best. It's a big project. When they tried to contract me I saw it's a club who wants to be better and bigger, I like this challenge.

"We need to rest now and think and dream bigger. That's what the club wants, that's what I want and my team mates."

Jimenez was named players’ player of the season after scoring 17 goals in all competitions, while Ruben Vinagre was young professional of the season ahead of Morgan Gibbs-White and Niall Ennis.

Jimenez also won the top goalscorer award and said: "It's an honour to be part of this club. Since I arrived I felt at home. Thanks everybody, we're going to keep looking forward. Hearing my song every game is amazing."

Goal of the season went to Jota for a fantastic team goal against Cardiff.

Defender Lewis Richards won the academy player of the season, Emma Cross took home the Wolves Women player of the season and Steve Green won the Express & Star fan of the season award.

Supporter and long-time sponsor Kevin Rogers, the first donor patron of the Wolves Foundation, was presented with the Rachel Heyhoe-Flint Award for his contribution to good causes in the community.

The awards were held at the Telford International Centre. Johnny Phillips and Jacqui Oatley hosted the night in front of an audience of 1,400, which included Robert Plant, Steve Bull and all the Wolves players and staff.

Player of the season

Joao Moutinho

Players' player of the season

Raul Jimenez

Top goalscorer

Raul Jimenez

Goal of the season

Diogo Jota v Cardiff

Young professional of the season

Ruben Vinagre

Academy player of the season

Lewis Richards

Wolves Women player of the season

Emma Cross

Express & Star fan of the season

Steve Green

Rachael Heyhoe Flint award

Kevin Rogers