Express & Star

The Great Big Thank You Awards: How to nominate

The Great Big Thank You Awards are back for 2017 and we need you to make it a night to remember.

Last updated
The Great Big Thank You Awards

What's it all about?

The Express & Star, along with the awards sponsors, are searching for the outstanding and selfless individuals and groups across the region who make a difference to the people around them - and usually don't expect any recognition for what they do.

They may be members of your family, friends, neighbours, colleagues, someone you see regularly or someone who you have heard about and found their story inspirational.

But we can't reward them - unless you tell us.

How to nominate

If you know someone who you think deserves to be considered for an award, simply complete the form by clicking the link.

Don't worry if you are not sure which category the form they fit into, the judges will decide where they best belong.

The person, or people, you nominate should live or work in the Black Country or south Staffordshire, i.e. within the circulation of the Express & Star.

Candidates may nominate themselves.

ALL nominations must be received by 12 noon on Monday, August 21.

What happens next?

At the beginning of September a panel of judges will decide who goes through in each of the eight categories to the next round and the chance of winning an award.

A list of the chosen finalists with a write-up about each of them will appear in the Express & Star and online.

You can then vote for the person in each category who you think deserves to win by cutting out special tokens published in the paper.

Voting tokens will appear in the Express & Star from October 19 until November 18 and you can collect as many as you like.

During certain times you will also be able to cast your vote online. The winner in each category will be the person with the most votes.

When will the winners be announced?

The chosen finalists, along with a selected number of guests, will be invited to an awards event held at the beginning of next year.

The winner in each of the eight categories will be announced during the course of this very special evening.