Full West Midlands Mayor election results as Andy Street increases majority

See the full West Midlands mayoral election results 2021 - including from each local council - as Labour MP Liam Byrne was defeated by Conservative Andy Street.

Rival candidates Andy Street, left, and Liam Byrne at the West Midlands Mayor declaration
Rival candidates Andy Street, left, and Liam Byrne at the West Midlands Mayor declaration

Andy Street increased his majority as he won a second term as West Midlands Mayor.

The Conservative former John Lewis managing director won 54 per cent of the vote once first and second preference votes were counted - stronger than his 50.4 per cent share four years ago.

Although the contest went to a second preference count, Labour’s Liam Byrne was unable to make up a 55,309-vote deficit from the first round, trailing Mr Street’s total vote of 314,669 with 267,626 first and second preferences.

The supplementary vote system means that as nobody secured more than 50 per cent of first choices, the vote went to a second round between the top two candidates. In that round, all of the second preferences of those who voted for the other three candidates in the first round were counted then added to the first round totals of Mr Street and Mr Byrne.

Read the full report and reaction here.



Andy Street (Conservative) 314,669

Liam Byrne (Labour) 267,626

First choice

Andy Street (Conservative) 299,318 (48.73 per cent)

Liam Byrne (Labour) 244,009 (39.72 per cent)

Steve Caudwell (Green) 35,559 (5.79 per cent)

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 21,836 (3.55 per cent)

Peter Durnell (Reform UK) 13,568 (2.21 per cent)

Turnout: 31.23 per cent (626,180 verified first choice results)

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 15,351

Andy Street (Conservative) 23,617

Results by council area


First choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 102,276

Andy Street (Conservative) 84,817

Steve Caudwell (Green) 12,435

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 9,294

Peter Durnell (Reform UK) 3,496

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 9,816

Andy Street (Conservative) 4,583


First choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 32,358

Andy Street (Conservative) 31,380

Steve Caudwell (Green) 5,824

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 2,815

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 1,895

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 3,585

Andy Street (Conservative) 2,111


First choice

Andy Street (Conservative) 50,787

Liam Byrne (Labour) 21,940

Steve Caudwell (Green) 3,360

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 2,083

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 2,005

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 2,210

Andy Street (Conservative) 1,821


First choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 33,047

Andy Street (Conservative) 27,876

Steve Caudwell (Green) 2,589

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 2,281

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 1,647

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 1,916

Andy Street (Conservative) 1,401


First choice

Andy Street (Conservative) 41,664

Liam Byrne (Labour) 9,512

Steve Caudwell (Green) 6,475

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 2,823

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 1,119

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 2,815

Andy Street (Conservative) 3,033


First choice

Andy Street (Conservative) 35,010

Liam Byrne (Labour) 19,887

Steve Caudwell (Green) 2,126

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 1,676

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 1,512

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 1,556

Andy Street (Conservative) 1,258


First choice

Andy Street (Conservative) 27,784

Liam Byrne (Labour) 24,989

Steve Caudwell (Green) 2,750

Jenny Wilkinson (Lib Dem) 1,576

Pete Durnell (Reform UK) 1,182

Second choice

Liam Byrne (Labour) 1,719

Andy Street (Conservative) 1,144

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News