West Brom goalkeeper Ben Foster included in votes for Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year

Ben Foster's brilliant season in goal for the Baggies has been recognised by the Football Writers' Association.

Ben Foster
Ben Foster

The Albion shot-stopper received at least one vote for player of the year on the 70th anniversary of football's oldest individual award.

He was the only goalkeeper who received any votes for the award which Chelsea midfielder N'Golo Kante won.

But Foster played down the recognition, saying on Twitter: "Wouldn't read too much into it, my mums on the board of voters #thanksmum"

There was a record spread of 17 different players who received votes and five of them came from Chelsea.

Kante said: "It is a fantastic honour to win this award. With so many great players in this Chelsea squad and in the Premier League, for the Football Writers' Association to name me their Footballer of the Year is a very proud moment in my career."

FWA Chairman Patrick Barclay added: “N'Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football's most prestigious individual award.

“In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester's title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.

“Considering the competition of Eden Hazard and other players from Chelsea in particular, this is a great achievement.”

Those players who received votes were, in alphabetical order, Sergio Aguero, Toby Alderweireld, Dele Alli, Cesar Azpilicueta, Diego Costa, Philippe Coutinho, Jermain Defoe, Ben Foster, Eden Hazard, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Harry Kane, N'Golo Kante, Anthony Knockaert, David Luiz, Romelu Lukaku, Alexis Sanchez, Gylfi Sigurdsson.

Albion supporters' club are holding their awards evening tonight.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News