Election 2021: Full list of candidates standing for Wolverhampton Council

The full list of candidates running in this year's local election for Wolverhampton Council. A total of 20 wards are being contested.

The leader of Labour-dominated is switching wards in this year's Wolverhampton Council elections.

Ian Brookfield currently represents Fallings Park, but is contesting Bushbury South and Low Hill this time around.

His prospective new ward is one of 20 being contested in 2021.

Currently Labour has 44 representatives on Wolverhampton Council, compared with 10 Conservatives and one Independent. Five more seats are currently vacant.

In this year's election there are 22 seats available, with residents in the Heath Town and Tettenhall Wightwick wards voting for two representatives.

When these wards were last contested in 2016, Labour won 18 seats while the Tories had two councillors elected.

Wolverhampton Council candidates

  • Bilston East: Thomas Fellows (Indep), Christopher Thompson (Cons), Holly Whitmill (Green), Gillian Wildman (Lab)*

  • Bilston North: Richard Carter (Green), Linda Leach (Lab)*, Rajpal Singh (Cons)

  • Blakenhall: Patrick Bentley (Lib Dem), Keith Gilbert (Green), Tersaim Singh (Lab)*, Mohammed Sohaib (Cons)

  • Bushbury North: Ian Jenkins (Lib Dem), Andrew McNeil (Cons), Janet Smith (Lab)*, Rosa Van Doorn (Green)

  • Bushbury South and Low Hill: Ian Brookfield (Lab)*, Matt Powis (Cons), Clive Wood (Green)

  • East Park: Benjamin Cole (Green), Steve Hall (Cons), Anwen Muston (Lab)*

  • Ettingshall: David Murray (Lib Dem), Zee Russell (Lab)*, Safyaan Salim (Cons), Michelle Webster (Green)

  • Fallings Park: Chris Burden (Lab)*, Helen Currie (Green), Ranjit Dhillon (Cons), Peter Nixon (Lib Dem)

  • Graiseley: Kathryn Ball (Lib Dem), Kiran Basra (Cons), Amy Bertaut (Green), John Reynolds (Lab)*

  • Heath Town (two seats): Rachel Ashby-Filippin (Lib Dem), Alan Bamber (Lib Dem), Jasbir Jaspal (Lab)*, Jaspreet Jaspal (Lab)*, Stephen Petter (Green), Alan Russell (WPB), Sucha Sahota (Cons), Fortune Sibanda (Cons), Ayden Young (Green)

  • Merry Hill: Alan Bolshaw (Lab)*, Wendy Dalton (Cons), Daniel Flynn (Green)

  • Oxley: Joshua Allerton (TUSC), Mia Clark (Green), Adam Collinge (Cons), Ann Jenkins (Lib Dem), Louise Miles (Lab)*

  • Park: Rachel Arnold (Green), Robert Brotherton (Cons), Claire Darke (Lab)*, Bryan Lewis (Lib Dem)

  • Penn: Kathryn Gilbert (Green), Stephanie Haynes (Cons), Tom Moreton (Lab)*

  • Spring Vale: Siân Kumar (Cons), Duncan Nimmo (Green), Mak Singh (Lab)*

  • St Peters: Qaiser Azeem (Lab)*, Terry Hancox (Green), Zahid Shah (Cons)

  • Tettenhall Regis: Julian Donald (Lib Dem), Carol Hyatt (Lab), Udey Singh (Cons)*, Valerie Wood (Green)

  • Tettenhall Wightwick (two seats): Christopher Brookes (Green), Andrea Cantrill (Green), Jonathan Crofts (Cons)*, Walker Darke (Lab), Kashmire Hawker (Lab), Peter Hollis (Lib Dem), David Marsh (Lib Dem), Ellis Turrell (Cons)*

  • Wednesfield North: Phil Bateman (Lab)*, Lee Harris (Green), Gordon Newell (Cons)

  • Wednesfield South: David Belcher (Green), Jacqui Coogan (Lab)*, Andy Randle (Cons)

*Denotes party that won seat in 2016

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News