Wolverhampton Council election 2021: Full list of candidates

See the full list of Wolverhampton Council election candidates ward by ward.

The last time the same Wolverhampton Council seats were voted for was in 2016
The last time the same Wolverhampton Council seats were voted for was in 2016

Voters will head to the polls next month for elections that were postponed last year due to the pandemic.

Elections for 143 local authorities in England will take place on May 6, as well as polls for regional metro mayors and police and crime commissioners.

The four Black Country authorities will each see one third of council seats go before voters.

In Wolverhampton, 22 seats are up for grabs. Among the current councillors up for re-election is Ian Brookfield, the leader of the authority who currently represents Fallings Park but is moving over to contest Bushbury South and Low Hill.

The deadline to register to vote is 11.59pm on April 19, while the deadline to register for a postal vote is 5pm the following day.

Scroll down to see the candidates in every ward across the city and keep following the Express & Star's elections page for the latest news and full previews.

Wolverhampton Council make-up

The last Wolverhampton Council election was in 2018 when a different third of the city's councillors were voted in.

Current state of play: Labour 44, Conservative 10, Independent 1, vacant 5

Seats contested in 2021: 22 seats are up for grabs in 20 wards. Two wards (Heath Town and Tettenhall Wightwick) will vote for two members. Everywhere else will vote for one member.

Last time these seats were contested: 2016

Result in 2016: Lab 18, Cons 2.

Full list of 2021 candidates

*Denotes party that won seat in 2016

  • Bilston East: Thomas Fellows (Indep), Christopher Thompson (Cons), Holly Whitmill (Green), Gillian Wildman (Lab)*

  • Bilston North: Richard Carter (Green), Linda Leach (Lab)*, Rajpal Singh (Cons)

  • Blakenhall: Patrick Bentley (Lib Dem), Keith Gilbert (Green), Tersaim Singh (Lab)*, Mohammed Sohaib (Cons)

  • Bushbury North: Ian Jenkins (Lib Dem), Andrew McNeil (Cons), Janet Smith (Lab)*, Rosa Van Doorn (Green)

  • Bushbury South and Low Hill: Ian Brookfield (Lab)*, Matt Powis (Cons), Clive Wood (Green)

  • East Park: Benjamin Cole (Green), Steve Hall (Cons), Anwen Muston (Lab)*

  • Ettingshall: David Murray (Lib Dem), Zee Russell (Lab)*, Safyaan Salim (Cons), Michelle Webster (Green)

  • Fallings Park: Chris Burden (Lab)*, Helen Currie (Green), Ranjit Dhillon (Cons), Peter Nixon (Lib Dem)

  • Graiseley: Kathryn Ball (Lib Dem), Kiran Basra (Cons), Amy Bertaut (Green), John Reynolds (Lab)*

  • Heath Town (two seats): Rachel Ashby-Filippin (Lib Dem), Alan Bamber (Lib Dem), Jasbir Jaspal (Lab)*, Jaspreet Jaspal (Lab)*, Stephen Petter (Green), Alan Russell (WPB), Sucha Sahota (Cons), Fortune Sibanda (Cons), Ayden Young (Green)

  • Merry Hill: Alan Bolshaw (Lab)*, Wendy Dalton (Cons), Daniel Flynn (Green)

  • Oxley: Joshua Allerton (TUSC), Mia Clark (Green), Adam Collinge (Cons), Ann Jenkins (Lib Dem), Louise Miles (Lab)*

  • Park: Rachel Arnold (Green), Robert Brotherton (Cons), Claire Darke (Lab)*, Bryan Lewis (Lib Dem)

  • Penn: Kathryn Gilbert (Green), Stephanie Haynes (Cons), Tom Moreton (Lab)*

  • Spring Vale: Siân Kumar (Cons), Duncan Nimmo (Green), Mak Singh (Lab)*

  • St Peters: Qaiser Azeem (Lab)*, Terry Hancox (Green), Zahid Shah (Cons)

  • Tettenhall Regis: Julian Donald (Lib Dem), Carol Hyatt (Lab), Udey Singh (Cons)*, Valerie Wood (Green)

  • Tettenhall Wightwick (two seats): Christopher Brookes (Green), Andrea Cantrill (Green), Jonathan Crofts (Cons)*, Walker Darke (Lab), Kashmire Hawker (Lab), Peter Hollis (Lib Dem), David Marsh (Lib Dem), Ellis Turrell (Cons)*

  • Wednesfield North: Phil Bateman (Lab)*, Lee Harris (Green), Gordon Newell (Cons)

  • Wednesfield South: David Belcher (Green), Jacqui Coogan (Lab)*, Andy Randle (Cons)

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News