Sandwell Council election 2021: Full list of candidates

See the full list of 2021 Sandwell Council election candidates ward by ward.

These seats were last voted for in May 2016
These seats were last voted for in May 2016

Voters will head to the polls next month for elections that were postponed last year due to the pandemic.

Elections for 143 local authorities in England will take place on May 6, as well as polls for regional metro mayors and police and crime commissioners.

The four Black Country authorities will each see one third of council seats go before voters.

In Sandwell, 27 seats are up for grabs. Among the current councillors up for re-election is Maria Crompton, the stand-in leader of the authority who represents Tividale.

The deadline to register to vote is 11.59pm on April 19, while the deadline to register for a postal vote is 5pm the following day.

Scroll down to see the candidates in every ward across the borough and keep following the Express & Star's elections page for the latest news and full previews.

Sandwell Council make-up

Current state of play: Labour 62, Independent 3, Brexit 1, vacant 6

Last time seats were contested: 2016

Result in 2016: Lab won all 24 seats.

Seats up for grabs in 2021: 26 seats in 24 wards. There are two wards with two seats up for grabs: Old Warley and Wednesbury South.

Full list of 2021 candidates

*Denotes party that won seat in 2016

**One councillor will be elected for Tividale on May 6. A separate by-election will take place in the future after the death of Tividale councillor Sandra Hevican.

  • Abbey: Nicky Hinchliff (Lab)*, Ali Akhbar Hussain (Cons), Robert Johns (Lib Dem), Barry Lim (Green)

  • Blackhealth: Greg Allman (Cons), Kerrie Carmichael (Lab)*

  • Bristnall: Ellen Fenton (Lab)*, Connor Jones (Cons), Manjit Lall (Lib Dem), Joe Loudon (Green)

  • Charlemont with Grove Vale: David Fisher (Cons), Sam Harding (For Britain), Amanda Jenkins (Lib Dem), Sanjeev Kumar (Indep), Graham Nock (Reform UK), Liam Preece (Lab)*

  • Cradley Heath and Old Hill: Satinder Dunn (Cons), Cammilla Mngaza (TUSC), Vicki Smith (Lab)*, Caroline White (Indep)

  • Friar Park: Scott Chapman (Cons), John Giles (Lab)*, Colin Rankine (Yeshua), Wayne Trinder (Indep)

  • Great Barr with Yew Tree: Liam Abrahams (Cons), Darryl Magher (Indep), Mark Smith (Lib Dem), Christopher Worsey (Lab)*

  • Great Bridge: William Gill (Cons), Ann Jarvis (Lab)*, Sandeep Singh (Indep)

  • Greets Green and Lyng: Md Jalal Ahmed (Cons), John Edwards (Indep), Pam Randhawa (Lab)*

  • Hateley Heath: Kacey Akpoteni (Lab), Jacqueline Nock (Reform UK), Paavan Ohm Sehmar (Indep), Les Trumpeter (Cons)

  • Langley: Sharon Davies (Indep), Caroline Owen (Lab)*, Mohammed Sakhi (Cons)

  • Newton: Elaine Giles (Lab)*, Bertram Richards (Lid Dem), Joyce Underhill (Indep), Hannah Valenzuela (Green), Lee Williams (Cons)

  • Old Warley (two seats): Jay Anandou (Cons), Harnoor Bhullar (Lab)*, Karl Leech (Reform UK), Aldo Mussi (Green), Jeffrey Regha (Cons), Bob Smith (Lib Dem), John Tipper (Lab)

  • Oldbury: Richard Gingell (TUSC), Rizwan Jalil (Lab), Nathan Poole (Cons)

  • Princes End: Bill Cherrington (Reform UK), Susan Eaves (Lab)*, Ian Jones (Indep), Archer Williams (Cons)

  • Rowley (two seats): Nagi Daya Singh (Lab)*, Laured Kalari (Cons), Claire Mayo (Lab), Satpal Singh (Cons)

  • Smethwick: Nicholas Bradley (Lib Dems), Amrita Dunn (Cons), Parbinder Kaur (Lab)*, Serena Laidley (WEP), Rod Macrorie (Green)

  • Soho and Victoria: Farut Shaeen (Lab)*, Daisy Shone (Lib Dem), Steve Simcox (Cons)

  • St. Paul’s: Sukhbir Gill (Lab)*, Ian Jeavons (Lib Dem), Keith Lawley (Cons)

  • Tipton Green: Narinder Garcha (Cons), Richard Jeffcoat (Indep), Charn Padda (Lab)

  • **Tividale: Maria Crompton (Lab)*, Emma Henlan (Cons)

  • Wednesbury North: Peter Hughes (Lab)*, Sarah Johnson (Cons), Gareth Knox (TUSC), Mark Redding (Green)

  • Wednesbury South (two seats): Ian Chambers (Cons), Steve Dabbs (Reform UK), Reuben Lawrence (WPB), Kirat Singh (Lab)*, Gulshan Tabassum (Lab), David Wilkes (Cons)

  • West Bromwich Central: Fajli Bibi (Cons), Daljit Kaur Nagra (Lib Dem), Laura Rollins (Lab)

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News