Wolves boss Nuno nominated for prestigious manager award

By Tim Spiers | Wolves | Published:

Nuno Espirito Santo has been nominated for the Premier League manager of the season award.

Nuno Espirito Santo (© AMA / Sam Bagnall)

The Wolves boss is on a four-man shortlist alongside Manchester City's Pep Guardiola, Liverpool's Jurgen Klopp and Spurs manager Mauricio Pochettino.

Nuno has guided Wolves to seventh-place in the Premier League – the best finish by a newly-promoted team since Ipswich Town finished fifth in 2001.

He had been nominated for manager of the month three times during the season, winning the award in September and nominated again in December and April.

Fans can vote for the award until 6pm this Thursday. Votes will then be combined with those of a panel of football experts, with the winner then announced at the League Managers' Association awards next Tuesday (14).

Nuno won the Championship manager of the season at last year's awards, when title-winning City boss Guardiola took the Premier League award.

Previous winners of the prestigious Premier League gong include Sir Alex Ferguson (11-time winner), Arsene Wenger (three) and Jose Mourinho (three).

The title-winning managers haven't always taken home the prize, though.

Tony Pulis won the award in 2014 after guiding Crystal Palace to safety despite them having lost nine of their first 10 matches.


In 2010 Harry Redknapp was named manager of the season for finishing fourth with Spurs.

And in 2001, after that aforementioned fifth-placed finish for newly-promoted Ipswich, their boss George Burley was the winner.

Wolves have achieved their highest-placed league finish since 1980 when they were sixth.

Average crowds at Molineux are also at their highest since 1970, with an average this season of 31,030.

Tim Spiers

By Tim Spiers

Writes about Wolverhampton Wanderers Football Club for a living


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News