Walsall League Two 2019/20 fixture list: Saddlers to start at Northampton

By Joseph Masi | Walsall FC | Published:

Walsall will begin life in League Two with an opening day clash at Northampton before then hosting Forest Green Rovers at the Banks's Stadium.

Walsall League Two 2019/20 fixture list

The Saddlers saw a 12-year stay in League One come crashing to an end when they were relegated on the final day of the 2017/18 campaign.

Now – under the guidance of new boss Darrell Clarke – they are plotting an instant return to English football's third tier.

And they face an intriguing opening month that sees them travel to Northampton, Crewe and Plymouth while they host Forest Green Rovers, Newport County and Grimsby.

Currently at odds of 16/1 to win the title, they will take on bookies favourites Salford City at the Banks's Stadium on October 5.

Graham Alexander's side, who came up from the National League last season, are famously owned by Manchester United's Class of '92 as well as Singaporean businessman Peter Lim.

Walsall will travel to Moor Lane on January 4.

Other notable fixtures see Clarke's side travel to Paul Hurst's Scunthorpe on Boxing Day. They then host Leyton Orient on New Year's Day.


The Saddlers local rivals next season will be Port Vale. Clarke's men will travel to Burslem on December 7. The reverse fixture on February 22.

With no fixtures in May, Walsall's last five games see them take on Cambridge (a), Plymouth (h), Grimsby (a), Colchester (h) and Bradford (a).

As well as the fixtures for League Two, the draw for the first round of the Carabao Cup will take place at 7pm today with Clarke's men likely to be in action on Tuesday, August 13.

Walsall League Two 2019/20 fixture list:



3 Northampton (a)

10 Forest Green (h)

17 Crewe (a)

20 Newport (h)

24 Plymouth (a)

31 Grimsby (h)


7 Colchester (a)

14 Bradford (h)

17 Morecambe (a)

21 Scunthorpe (h)

28 Crawley (a)


5 Salford (h)

12 Leyton Orient (a)

19 Cheltenham (h)

22 Oldham (a)

29 Mansfield (h)


2 Swindon (a)

16 Cambridge (h)

23 Stevenage (h)


7 Port Vale (a)

14 Macclesfield (h)

21 Exeter (a)

26 Scunthorpe (a)

29 Carlisle (h)


1 Leyton Orient (h)

4 Salford (a)

11Cheltenham (a)

18 Crawley (h)

25 Carlisle (a)

28 Morecambe (h)


1 Crewe (h)

8 Forest Green (a)

11 Newport County (a)

15 Northampton (h)

22 Port Vale (h)

29 Stevenage (a)


7 Exeter (h)

14 Macclesfield (a)

17 Oldham (h)

21 Mansfield (a)

28 Swindon (h)


4 Cambridge (a)

10 Plymouth (h)

13 Grimsby (a)

18 Colchester (h)

25 Bradford (a)

Joseph Masi

By Joseph Masi
Football MMPJ - @josephmasi_star

West Bromwich Albion reporter.


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News