Halesowen Town 0 Kettering Town 1 - Report

Halesowen's relegation was finally confirmed as Kettering were crowned

Halesowen 0 Kettering 1
Halesowen 0 Kettering 1

champions of the Premier Division Central following a narrow victory.

Sam Dallow burst forward in the 5th minute as the Yeltz made an encouraging

start. But tricky Kettering wide-man Rhys Hoenes created the first real

chance when he weaved his way into the home penalty area after 8 minutes and

his shot was blocked for a corner.

The league leaders stretched play across the park to strike their 19th

minute winner when Dion Kelly-Evans crossed from the right for Hoenes to

guide the ball beyond goalkeeper Dan Platt.

With goal-shy Halesowen failing to register a first-half attempt on target,

it was the Poppies who turned the screw with further chances before the

interval. Dan Holman hit high over the bar in the 36th minute and a 45th

minute shot from Lindon Meikle was saved by Platt with his legs. Platt then

beat away another Meikle shot in first half stoppage time.

At the start of the second period visiting captain Michael Richens struck at

Platt and then just failed to connect properly with Marcus Kelly's 52nd

minute corner. Halesowen's Aaron Birch played a short 55th minute corner for

Kartel O'Neill-Martin to cross along goal, but the Poppies continued to

create the better chances with Platt saving Holman's effort from close range

in the 59th minute.

Platt continued to restrict Kettering to a solitary goal with a fine late

display of goalkeeping. The in-form goalkeeper made a great double save in

the 81st minute to save Marcus Kelly's 20 yard free-kick and then somehow

repositioned himself to keep out substitute Brett Solkhon's header from the


Yeltz substitute Aaron Gilpin found space but blazed high in the 87th minute

in a rare chance from the hosts. But it was Platt who was again in fine form

to deny the Poppies as the home defence opened up in the dying minutes.

Holman struck a low 90th minute shot at Platt and Platt then blocked Marcus


Platt made yet another good block from Derek O'Connor in the second minute

of stoppage time but the Poppies had already done enough to land the league

title and their celebrations soon began surrounded by their large following

of jubilant supporters.


Halesowen Town: Dan Platt; Enock Ekongo, Sam Griffiths, Ivor Lawton, Kieran

Morris (c), Callam Mendez-Jones, Sam Dallow (Aaron Gilpin 65), Aaron Birch,

Jamie Molyneux (Isai Marselia 66), Kartel O'Neill-Martin, Jack Kelly (Lee

Hughes 82). Subs Not Used: Samir Nabi, Asa Charlton.

Kettering Town: Paul White; Michael Richens (c), Lindon Meikle, Derek

O'Connor, Dan Holman, Rhys Hoenes (Ben Milnes 71), Dion Kelly-Evans (Gary

Stohrer 32), Marcus Kelly, Declan Towers, Lathaniel Rowe-Turner, Craig

Stanley (Brett Solkhon 74). Subs Not Used: James Brighton, Ben Toseland.

Referee: Ben Cooke Attendance: 938

Most Read

Most Read

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News