Dudley local election results: All square with Tories set to take over

By Peter Madeley | Dudley | Local Elections 2019 | Published:

Find out all the results from the 2019 Dudley local election count.

Borth main parties finished with 36 seats in Dudley, but the Tories will use the Mayor's casting vote to form an administration

What happened:

No party is in overall control of the council, with the Conservatives and Labour now tied with 36 councillors each after the Tories gained one seat.

Labour, who had been running the council with minority control, was just six votes short of winning outright control after a series of recounts saw Tory Steve Clark edge out Cat Eccles in Wollaston and Stourbridge Town ward.

The leadership will be decided at a full council meeting on May 16, where the Tories are likely to use the Mayor's casting vote to form an administration.

Political make-up:

Conservative 36, Labour 36.

Turnout: TBC

Scroll down for full results from each ward.


Votes from across Dudley were counted at Crystal Leisure Centre in Stourbridge

More election coverage

Ward-by-ward results


* = elected councillor

Amblecote: (Cons hold)

Ellen Cobb (Lab) 781

Ian Flynn (Lib) 165

Pete Lee (Cons)* 1,119

Terry Thorn (Ukip) 597

Belle Vale: (Cons hold)

Bill McComish (Green) 909

Simon Phipps (Cons)* 1,829

Donella Russell (Lab) 1,049

William Stephenson (BCP) 267

Brierley Hill: (Lab hold)

Ridha Ahmed (Lab) 850

Adam Davies (Cons) 825

Gordon Elcock (Green) 233

Delesh Patel (Ukip) 388

Brockmoor & Pensnett: (Cons gain)

Rich Colley (Ukip) 414

Sue Greenaway (Cons)* 747

Carolanne Lello (Lab) 712

Garry Sawers (BCP) 351

Castle & Priory: (Lab hold)

Maurice Archer (Green) 174

Martin Day (Libertarian) 47

David Donnelly (Ukip) 586

Ken Finch (Lab)* 1,125

Richard Tasker (Cons) 567

Coseley East: (Lab hold)

Josef Baker (Cons) 549

Peter Drake (Lab)* 1,039

Phil Robinson (Ukip) 779

Cradley & Wollescote: (Lab hold)

Richard Body (Lab)* 1,180

Mitch Bolton (BCP) 251

James Clinton (Cons) 849

Euan Dunn (Ukip) 440

Ryan Priest (Lib) 128

Gornal: (Cons hold)

Karl Denning (Lab) 662

Matt Jones (Ukip) 934

Anne Millward (Cons)* 1,505

Halesowen North: (Lab gain)

Gabby Coverson (Ukip) 261

Peter Dobb (Cons) 1,155

Stuart Henley (BCP) 805

Parmjit Sahota (Lab)* 1,292

Halesowen South: (Cons hold)

Helen Betts-Patel (Lab) 720

Derek Campbell (Lib) 212

Nicholas Gregory (BCP) 512

Alan Taylor (Cons)* 1,695

Tim Weller (Indep) 140

Hayley Green & Cradley South: (Cons hold)

Ian Bevan (Cons)* 1,416

Dean Ford (BCP) 455

John Payne (Green) 301

Gwyneth Stewart (Lab) 705

Kingswinford North & Wall Heath: (Cons hold)

Pam Archer (Green) 286

Jonathan Bramall (Lib) 207

Jack Downes (Lab) 565

Nicola Richards (Cons)* 1,975

Kingswinford South: (Cons hold)

Taryn Bradley (Green) 346

Elizabeth Geeves (Lib) 194

Marian Howard (Lab) 523

Peter Miller (Cons)* 1,823

Lye & Stourbridge North: (Lab hold)

Gary Farmer (BCP) 595

Mohammed Hanif (Lab)* 1,355

Alan Lewers (Lib) 104

Kamran Razzaq (Cons) 596

Lawrence Rowlett (Green) 161

Netherton, Woodside & St Andrew’s: (Lab hold)

Caley Ashman (Ukip) 369

Phil Atkins (Cons) 456

Alexander Botten (Lib) 52

Mark Robinson (BCP) 378

Alex Wright (Green) 165

Qadar Zada (Lab)* 1,243

Norton: (Cons gain)

Mark Binnersley (Green) 246

David Powell (Ukip) 317

Heather Rogers (Indep) 568

Karen Shakespeare (Cons)* 1,500

Elaine Sheppard (Lib) 353

Andrew Tromans (Lab) 778

Pedmore & Stourbridge East: (Cons hold)

Simon Hanson (Lib) 296

Ian Kettle (Cons)* 1,760

Catherine Maguire (Green) 239

Brian Roe (Lab) 784

Glen Wilson (Ukip) 45

Quarry Bank & Dudley Wood: (Lab hold)

Christopher Blake (Cons) 667

Jackie Cowell (Lab) 713

Dean Horton (Ukip) 424

David Sheppard (Lib) 54

Angela Walker (BCP) 370

Sedgley: (Cons hold)

Stephen Beardsmore (Lab) 760

Tina Westwood (Cons)* 1,805

St James’s (Lab hold)

Cathy Bayton (Lab)* 1,094

Claire Bramall (Lib) 86

Malcolm Davis (Cons) 529

Mick Forsyth (Ukip) 388

Dinesh Patel (BCP) 205

Francis Sheppard (Green) 91

St Thomas’s (Lab hold)

Daniel Archer (Green) 180

Shaneila Mughal (Lab)* 1,757

Mark Webb (Cons) 445

Phil Wimlett (Ukip) 474

Upper Gornal & Woodsetton (Lab hold)

Adam Aston (Lab)* 988

Damian Corfield (BCP) 856

Jon Turner (Cons) 751

Wollaston & Stourbridge Town: (Cons hold)

Christopher Bramall (Lib) 296

Charles Brecknell (Ukip) 323

Steve Clark (Cons)* 1,437

Cat Eccles (Lab) 1,431

David Hunt (BCP) 330

Kevin Weston (Indep) 79

Wordsley: (Cons hold)

James Callaghan (Lab) 633

Alexander Home (Lib) 161

Matt Rogers (Cons)* 1,496

Jennifer Slater-Reid (Green) 306

Peter Madeley

By Peter Madeley

Political Editor for the Express & Star. Responsible for local and national political stories, opinion, comment and analysis.


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News