Wolverhampton Council election 2019: Find out who's standing in your area

Wolverhampton | Local Elections 2019 | Published:

Find out who is standing for election in your area here.

Who will be elected to Wolverhampton Council this year?

Eighty would-be councillors from eight different parties will be vying for seats on Wolverhampton Council next month.

Residents will be casting their votes on May 2 with 22 seats up for grabs across the 20 wards in the city.

The list of Wolverhampton candidates

Two councillors will be elected in Tettenhall Wightwick, where Arun Photay has resigned, and Wednesfield South due to Paula Brookfield’s decision to move wards to Bushbury South and Low Hill.

All other wards have one seat available.

Much of the focus will be on what happens on the day after the elections, when the city’s dominant Labour group will meet to elect its new leader following Councillor Roger Lawrence's decision to step down.

Labour, which currently has control of the authority, is fielding 21 candidates including current cabinet member for adults Sandra Samuels OBE who is defending her Ettingshall seat.

Roger Lawrence is standing down as leader


Wendy Thompson, leader of the Conservative group, will be looking to retain her Tettenhall Wightwick seat and is one of 22 Tory candidates fighting this election.

The Liberal Democrats are fielding 14 candidates in total, while the Green Party has put forward 13, UKIP has six and two will stand as Independents.

The smaller Socialist Alternative and Black Country parties have one nomination each – both in the Oxley ward.

Scroll down to see who is standing in each ward.


Bilston East

Tom Fellows (Independent)

Rashpal Kaur (Labour)

Sian Kumar (Conservatives)

Robert Wells (UKIP)

Bilston North

Olivia Birch (Labour)

Brian Lawley (UKIP)

Mohammed Sohaib (Conservatives)


Patrick Bentley (Liberal Democrats)

Paul Birch (Labour)

Christopher Gleve (UKIP)

Josh Moreton (Conservatives)

Bushbury North

Paul Appleby (Conservatives)

Ann Jenkins (Liberal Democrats)

Wayne O’Brien (Labour)

John Rickhuss (UKIP)

Michelle Webster (Green)

Bushbury South and Low Hill

Alan Bamber (Liberal Democrats)

Paula Brookfield (Labour)

Robert Hornsby (Conservatives)

Clive Wood (Green)

East Park

Harman Banger (Labour)

Steve Hall (Independent)

Andrew Timmins (Conservatives)


David Murray (Liberal Democrats)

Sandra Samuels (Labour)

Fortune Sibanda (Conservatives)

Fallings Park

Helen Currie (Green)

Ranjit Dhillon (Conservatives)

Valerie Evans (Labour)

Peter Nixon (Liberal Democrats)


Daniel Flynn (Green)

Giuliano Pisarski (Conservatives)

Jacqueline Sweetman (Labour)

Joanne Taaffe (Liberal Democrats)

Heath Town

Milkinderpal Jaspal (Labour)

Ian Jenkins (Liberal Democrats)

Sucha Singh (Conservatives)

Merry Hill

Paul Darke (Labour)

Kate Gilbert (Green)

Chris Haynes (Conservatives)


Leyla Abbes (Liberal Democrats)

Joshua Allerton (Socialist Alternative)

Andrew McNeil (Conservatives)

Clare Simm (Labour)

Bob Southam (Black Country Party)

Helen Tudor (Green)


Amy Bertaut (Green)

David Davies (Conservatives)

Michael Hardacre (Labour)

Nicholas Machnik-Foster (Liberal Democrats)


Peter Hollis (Liberal Democrats)

Muhammad Nasim (Labour)

Paul Singh (Conservatives)

Holly Whitmill (Green)

Spring Vale

Kathryn Ball (Liberal Democrats)

Rupinderjit Kaur (Labour)

Safyaan Salim (Conservatives)

St Peters

Terry Hancox (Green)

Lynne Moran (Labour)

Gillian Timms (Conservatives)

Tettenhall Regis

Benjamin Brunsdon (Green)

Julian Donald (Liberal Democrats)

Chester Morrison (Labour)

Jonathan Yardley (Conservatives)

Tettenhall Wightwick

Andrea Cantrill (Green)

Jonathan Crofts (Conservatives)

Pat Cross (Labour)

Bryan Lewis (Liberal Democrats)

David Marsh (Liberal Democrats)

Wendy Thompson (Conservatives)

Wednesfield North

Adam Collinge (Conservatives)

Lee Harris (Green)

Rita Potter (Labour)

Eddie Szwarc (UKIP)

Wednesfield South

Raj Chagger (Conservatives)

Jacqui Coogan (Labour)

Sandra Hopkins (UKIP)

Zak Roche (Green)

Bhupinder Gakhal (Labour)

Alison Webb (Conservatives)

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News