Walsall Council election 2019: Find out who's standing in your area

Walsall | Local Elections 2019 | Published:

Find out who is standing for election in your area here.

Who will take control of Walsall Council?

One third of Walsall Council seats are up for grabs, with 64 candidates set do battle across 20 wards.

Voters across the borough will go to the polls on May 2.

Both the ruling Conservative group and Labour are fielding candidates in every single one of the 20 wards.

The Conservatives currently hold the upper hand, running a minority council with a four-seat advantage over Labour.

Liberal Democrats are fielding seven candidates, UKIP have selected 10, the Green Party has four and three will stand as independents.

The full list of candidates

Among the high-profile candidates are current Tory council leader Mike Bird, who will defend his Pheasey Park Farm seat and be looking to clock up his 40th year on the authority, having been first elected in 1980.

Walsall’s current Mayor Marco Longhi will defend his Pelsall ward seat, while a former civic leader of the town, Pete Smith, is hoping to regain a seat on the council in Blakenall.


Walsall Council is currently made up of 30 Conservative councillors, 26 Labour, two Liberal Democrats and two Independents.

Scroll down to see who is standing in each ward.


Gaz Ali (Conservatives)


Christopher Jones (Labour)


Pomy Kang (Conservatives)

Shaun McKenzie (Green)

Pete Smith (Independent)

Ann Young (Labour)

Bloxwich East

Shaun Fitzpatrick (Labour)

Corin Ann Statham (Conservatives)

Bloxwich West

Matt Follows (Conservatives)

Patti Lane (Labour)

Short Heath

Carl Brown (Labour)

Sarah-Jane Cooper (Conservatives)

Mohammed Yaqub (Liberal Democrats)

Willenhall North

Mehreen Afzal (Labour)

Adam Hicken (Conservatives)

Stuart Hodges (Liberal Democrats)

Willenhall South

Carl Creaney (Labour)

Amandeep Kaur Garcha (Conservatives)

Aldridge Central and South

Paul Bramwell (Liberal Democrats)

Guan Khai Chan (Green)

Barbara Dickens (UKIP)

Pard Kaur (Conservatives)

Mish Rahman (Labour)

Aldridge North and Walsall Wood

Gary Clarke (Conservatives)

Tony Williams-Rabone (UKIP)

Amy Wolfs (Labour)


Derek Bennett (UKIP)

Ken Ferguson (Conservatives)

David Morgan (Labour)

Ian Neville (Independent)


Graham Eardley (UKIP)

Marco Longhi (Conservatives)

Jon Maltman (Labour)

Pheasey Park Farm

Mike Bird (Conservatives)

Andrea Bradley (Labour)

Steve Grey (UKIP)


Liam Allen (Green)

Mark Dickens (UKIP)

Lorna Rattigan (Conservatives)

Kathryn Smith (Labour)


Shaz Akhtar (Labour)

Kay Davies-Tinsley (UKIP)

Jennifer Gray (Liberal Democrats)

Sat Johal (Conservatives)

Bentley and Darlaston

Bruce Bennett (UKIP)

Stuart Chapman (Independent)

Andrew Forrester (Conservatives)

Saiqa Nasreen (Labour)

Darlaston South

Peter Burton (UKIP)

Doug James (Labour)

Sukhy Nijjar (Conservatives)


Nick Dodds (Labour)

Peter Faultless (UKIP)

Waheed Rasab (Conservatives)

Roger Watts (Liberal Democrats)


Hajran Bashir (Labour)

Mohammad Roshid (Liberal Democrats)

Mohammed Yaqoob (Conservatives)


Khizar Hussain (Labour)

Jas Singh (Conservatives)

St Matthews

Jonathan Bates (Liberal Democrats)

Arfan Matloob (Conservatives)

Farhana Mazhar (Labour)

Susan Webster (Green)

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News