Sandwell Council elections 2019: Find who's standing in your area

Sandwell | Local Elections 2019 | Published:

Find out who is standing for election in your area here.

Sandwell Council is traditionally dominated by Labour

Sandwell remains one of the most politically unbalanced local authorities in the country, with Labour holding all 72 seats.

Twenty-four seats are up for grabs in a poll that comes on the back of a turbulent year.

Former leader Steve Eling, a councillor for more than 30 years, has quit after the national Labour Party suspended him following a complaint, and will not be contesting the Abbey seat.

The run up to the elections has also seen allegations that Labour’s national office had interfered in candidate selections, amid claims that allies of West Bromwich East MP Tom Watson had been dumped in favour of Corbynites.

The full list of candidates

A total of 88 candidates have thrown their hats into the ring for the 24 council seats being contested.

Both Labour and the Conservatives have fielded a full slate of nominees followed closely followed by the Green Party, which is putting up 18 people this time round.

The election has also seen the first appearance of a new local group in the shape of the Black Country Party which is standing two candidates in Sandwell, along with others across the region.


Former councillors Dave and Shirley Hosell are now standing as Independents after being de-selected by the Labour Party.

Voting takes place on May 2.

Scroll down to see who's standing in each ward.



Michael Allen (Green Party)

Robin Bird (Conservatives)

Ahmad Bostan (Labour)

Karl Renar (Liberal Democrats)


Ian Bradshaw (Black Country Party)

Bob Dunn (Conservatives)

Thabiso Mabena (Labour)

Aldo Mussi (Green)

David Westwood (UKIP Make Brexit Happen)


Connor Jones (Conservatives)

Saikha Kausar (Labour)

Susan O’Dell (Green)

Charlemont with Grove Vale

Elizabeth Giles (Labour)

Sam Harding (For Britain Movement)

Graham Nock (UKIP)

Lee Williams (Conservatives)

Cradley Heath and Old Hill

Paul Connor (Green)

Robert Johns (Liberal Democrats)

Balhar Ramewal (Conservatives)

Simon Roberts (UKIP)

Ann Shackleton (Labour)

Friar Park

Colin Rankine (Yeshua)

Karen Simms (Labour)

Wayne Trinder (Independent)

Bob Willetts (Conservatives)

Great Barr with Yew Tree

Lorraine Binsley (For Britain Movement)

Gurdesh Gill (Labour)

Shirley Hosell (Independent)

Paul Kearns (Conservatives)

Stephen Pimm (Liberal Democrats)

Daniela Waugh (Green)

Great Bridge

Pete Allen (Labour)

Stuart Bate (Conservatives)

Greets Green and Lyng

Fiona Pitt (Green)

Jackie Taylor (Labour)

Judith Willetts (Conservatives)

Hateley Heath

Kay Millar (Labour)

John Stockall (Conservatives)


Yvonne Davies (Labour)

Frederic Lacroix (Green)

Archer Williams (Conservatives)


Dave Hosell (Independent)

Stephen Latham (For Britain Movement)

Richard McVittee (Labour)

Bertram Richards (Liberal Democrats)

Hannah Valenzuela (Green)

Pauline Willaims (Conservatives)

Old Warley

Jason Dickens (Black Country Party)

Richard Jones (Labour)

Samantha Lyster (Green)

Bryan Manley-Green (Liberal Democrats)

Jeffrey Regha (Conservatives)


Suzanne Hartwell (Labour)

Skerntian Keri (Conservatives)

Jody Waugh (Green)

Princes End

Paul Blundell (UKIP)

Scott Chapman (Conservatives)

Stephen Jones (Labour)

James Marsh (Independent)


Shaheen Akhtar (Labour)

Heather Allen (Green)

Paul Rudge (Independent)

Satpal Singh (Conservatives)


Stephanie Buckman (Green)

Colin Clark (Conservatives)

Manjit Gill (Labour)

Soho and Victoria

Robert Buckman (Green)

Zahir Hussain (Labour)

Suki Nandra (Conservatives)

St. Paul`s

Zahoor Ahmed (Labour)

Mohammad Hussain (Conservatives)

Fabienne Ottridge (Green)

Tipton Green

Richard Jeffcoat (Green)

Syeda Khatun (Labour)

Sam Wilkes (Conservatives)


Lorraine Ashman (Labour)

Narinder Garcha (Conservatives)

Keir Williams (Green)

Wednesbury North

Elaine Costigan (Labour)

Darry Magher (For Britain Movement)

Mark Redding (Green)

Steve Simcox (Conservatives)

Wednesbury South

Lynn Chawner (Independent)

Olwen Jones (Labour)

Keith Lawley (Conservatives)

West Bromwich Central

Elizabeth Brown (Conservatives)

Bawa Dhallu (Labour)

Ryan Ottridge (Green)

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News