Election 2021: Full list of candidates standing for Walsall Council

The full list of candidates running in this year's local election for Walsall Council. A total of 20 wards are being contested.

A total of 22 seats across 20 wards are up for grabs on Walsall Council in this year's election.

The one ward which has more than once position available is Pelsall, where three councillors can be elected and where Conservative councillors Sally Neville and Marco Longhi MP are stepping down.

When the seats were last contested five years ago, Labour won 10, while the Tories and Liberal Democrats took seven and two respectively. The final spot went to an Independent.

Despite Labour winning the majority of these seats in 2016 it is actually the Conservatives who have the most councillors overall, with 32 compared to Labour's 26.

Walsall Council candidates

  • Birchills-Leamore: Amo Hussain (Cons), Tina Jukes (Lab)*, Kevin Pitt (Green), Paul Wild (Lib Dem), Elaine Williams (Reform UK)

  • Blakenall: Saghir Mohammed (Cons), Pete Smith (Indep), Matt Ward (Lab)*

  • Bloxwich East: Gary Flint (Cons), Kath Phillips (Lab)*

  • Bloxwich West: Brad Allen (Cons)*, Stuart Hodges (Lib Dem), Robert Matthews (Reform UK), David Morgan (Lab)

  • Short Heath: Daniel Barker (Lib Dem)*, Elliot Pfebve (Lab), Josh Whitehouse (Cons)

  • Willenhall North: Stacie Elson (Cons), Carl Harrison (Green), Stephen Moreton (Lab), Ian Shires (Lib Dem)*

  • Willenhall South: Sean Coughlan (Lab)*, Ben Hodges (Lib Dem), Amandeep Kaur Garcha (Cons)

  • Aldridge Central and South: Shaz Akhtar (Lab), Jonathan Bates (Lib Dem), Guan Chan (Green), Tim Wilson (Cons)*

  • Aldridge North and Walsall Wood: Michael Bruce (Lab), Isaac Crosby (Lib Dem), Tanya Petrovic (Green), Keith Sears (Cons)*

  • Brownhills: Lee Chapman (Reform UK), Hamza Karim (Lib Dem), Kerry Murphy (Cons), Phil Parker (Green), Steve Wade (Lab)*

  • Pelsall (three seats): Shamim Ahmed (Lab), Graham Eardley (Reform UK), Patti Lane (Lab), Deborah Lee (Green), Ed Lee (Cons), Jon Maltman (Lab), Rose Martin (Cons), Garry Perry (Cons)*

  • Pheasey Park Farm: Adrian Andrew (Cons)*, Matthew Barker (Lib Dem), Andrea Maynard (Green), Trish White (Lab)

  • Rushall-Shelfield: Jade Davies (Reform UK), Sawra Shmim (Cons), Richard Worrall (Lab)*

  • Streetly: Michael Coulson (Lab), Jennifer Gray (Lib Dem), Keir Pedley (Cons)*, Alison Walters (Green)

  • Bentley and Darlaston North: Sukhy Nijjar (Cons), Angela Underhill (Lab)*

  • Darlaston South: Derek Bennett (Cons), Chris Bott (Lab) *won as independent

  • Paddock: Nasar Ali (Lab), Nick Gandham (Cons)*, Roger Watts (Lib Dem)

  • Palfrey: Sabina Ditta (Lab)*, Moz Khan (Cons)

  • Pleck: Naheed Gultasib (Lab)*, Jitu Miah (Cons)

  • St Matthews: Abdus Nazir (Lab)*, Michael Walters (Green), Mohammed Yaqoob (Cons)

*Denotes party that won seat in 2016

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News