Cannock Chase Council election 2021: Full list of candidates

See the full list of candidates standing in the 2021 Cannock Chase Council election.

Voters go to the polls on May 6
Voters go to the polls on May 6

Voters will head to the polls next month for elections that were postponed last year due to the pandemic.

Elections for 143 local authorities in England will take place on May 6, as well as polls for regional metro mayors and police and crime commissioners.

Thirteen seats are being contested on Cannock Chase District Council, while there is a full vote for Staffordshire County council.

There are also elections for West Midlands Mayor, and for police and crime commissioners (PCC) in the West Midlands and Staffordshire. The polls were due to take place last May but were delayed due to the coronavirus crisis, which continues to have an impact.

Campaigning rules have changed due to social distancing being in place, while election counts will have a different feel with attendance numbers limited due to Covid restrictions.

Unlike in previous years results will be declared the day after the election in some areas, although Staffordshire County Council will declare on May 8, as will the mayoral and PCC polls.

People have been urged to ensure they are registered to vote ahead of the elections.

The deadline to register to vote is 11.59pm on April 19, while the deadline to register for a postal vote is 5pm the following day.

Scroll down to see the full list of candidates across the Cannock Chase borough and keep following the Express & Star's elections page for the latest news and full previews.

Cannock Chase Council make-up

Current state of play: Labour 17, Conservative 14, Chase Community Independents 5, Liberal Democrat 2, Green 1, Independent 1, vacant 1

Last time these seats were contested: 2016

Result in 2016: Lab 9, Cons 3, Green 1

Seats up for grabs in 2021: 13

*Denotes party that won seat in 2016

  • Brereton and Ravenhill: Louis Arduino (Cons), Alan Dudson (Lab)*, David Green (Green), Peter Johnson (Lib Dem)

  • Cannock East: Joanne Elson (Green), Johnny McMahon (Cons), Christine Mitchell (Lab)*

  • Cannock North: Phil Jones (Cons), Jordan Morris (Green), Jacquie Prestwood (Lab)*

  • Cannock South: Jessica Cooper (Lab)*, Sarah Findlay (CCI), Matthew Jackson (Green), Peter Kruskonjic (Cons)

  • Cannock West: Michael Holder (Lab), Sharon Jagger (CCI), Doug Smith (Cons)*, Maire Smith (Green)

  • Etching Hill and The Heath: Darren Foley (Lab), Justin Johnson (Cons)*, Michael Sheridan (Green)

  • Hagley: Stuart Kennedy (Green), Nick Lyons (Cons), Christine Martin (Lab)*, Ian Pyke (CCI)

  • Hawks Green: Leslie Bullock (Lab), Paul Dadge (CCI), Philippa Haden (Cons)*

  • Heath Hayes East and Wimblebury: Jodie Ashford (CCI), Kenneth Beardmore (Green), Diane Todd (Lab)*, Lisa Wilson (Cons)

  • Hednesford North: Darrell Mawle (CCI), Matt McCall (Cons), Alan Pearson (Lab)*

  • Hednesford South: Josh Bancroft (Cons), Ryan Tipton (Lab), Ronald Turville (Indep), Paul Woodhead (CCI) *won as Green

  • Norton Canes: Paul Allen (Reform UK), Mike Hoare (Cons), Linda Mawle (CCI), Zaphne Stretton (Lab)*, Glen Tapper (Green)

  • Western Springs: Warren Cocker (Green), Charlie Frew (Cons), David Gaye (Lab)*, Niamh Mahon (Indep)

Most Read

Most Read

Sorry, we are not accepting comments on this article.

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News