Wolverhampton schools to remain closed due to concerns over rising Covid rates

Many schools schools will remain closed in Wolverhampton on Monday due to concerns over rising Covid rates.

Graiseley Primary School, Villiers Primary, Woodthorne, Dunstall Hill, Perry Hall, Berrybrook and Claregate all confirmed on Sunday they would be closed.

Perry Hall Primary School, Berrybrook Primary School, Dunstall Hill, Woodthorne and Claregate will all remain closed for the full week and will teach children remotely.

Graiseley Primary School will remain closed until January 18, while Villiers Primary will stay shut for the whole of next week.

The Express & Star understand the closures will affect all children except for those of key workers and children who are classed as vulnerable.

Numerous other schools have since confirmed they will stay closed as infection rates continue to rise.

Most primaries in the region were expected to open on Monday or Tuesday while secondaries will reopen on a staggered basis, with exam year pupils returning.

On Saturday the council wrote to the Secretary of State for Education to express serious concerns about the safe reopening of primary schools – asking the Government to support a move to online learning, other than for children of critical workers or vulnerable children.

The council received a response from the Government on Sunday afternoon saying schools must continue to prepare to open as planned at the start of term.

Wyre Forest schools closed today:

  • Baxter College, Kidderminster

  • Bayton CE Primary School, Bewdley

  • Beaconside Primary & Nursery School, Rubery

  • Belbroughton CE Primary School, Hagley

  • Birchen Coppice Academy, Kidderminster

  • Blakedown CE Primary School, Hagley

  • Burlish Park Primary School, Stourport

  • Clent Parochial Primary School, Hagley

  • Comberton Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Cookley Sebright Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Far Forest Lea Memorial CE Primary School, Bewdley

  • Foley Park Community Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Franche Community Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Hagley Catholic High School, Hagley

  • Hagley Primary School, Hagley

  • Hartlebury CE Primary School, Stourport

  • Haybrigdge High School and Sixth Form, Hagley

  • Heronswood Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Holywell Primary & Nursery School, Rubery

  • Lickey Hills Primary School, Rubery

  • Lickhill Primary School, Stourport

  • Offmore Primary School, Kidderminster

  • St Ambrose's Catholic Primary School, Kidderminster

  • St Anne's CE Primary School, Bewdley

  • St Bartholomew's CE Primary School, Stourport

  • St George's CofE School, Kidderminster

  • S Kenelm's CE Primary School, Hagley

  • St Mary's CE Primary School, Kidderminster

  • St Oswald's CE Primary School, Kidderminster

  • St Wulstan's Catholic Primary School, Stourport

  • Stourport Primary School, Stourport

  • The Bewdley School, Bewdley

  • The Stourport High School & VI Form College, Stourport

  • Waseley Hills High School, Rubery

  • Wilden All Saints' CE Primary School, Stourport

  • Wolverley CE Secondary School, Kidderminster

  • Wolverley Sebright Primary School, Kidderminster

  • Wyre Forest School, Kidderminster

Top Stories

More from the Express & Star

UK & International News