Police officer who chased down armed robber despite being threatened with a crowbar handed bravery award

By Carl Jackson | Stafford | Crime | Published:

A hero policewoman who chased down a dangerous robber who threatened her with a crowbar has been given a bravery award.

Claire Goodridge

Pc Claire Goodridge was first on the scene when a thief struck stealing £40 from a man outside the Co-Op store on Stone Road in Stafford.

Despite being on her own she went to hunt down the 21-year-old suspect who was known to be violent and aggressive.

PC Goodridge soon found him in a car and tried to arrest him but he resisted leaving the vehicle, dragging the officer with him before dumping her on the floor.

But undeterred she gave chase and cornered the man in a garden shed where he started waving a crowbar at her.

At that point PC Goodridge successfully sprayed him with Pava – similar to a pepper spray – but again he refused to be detained and the fleeing man pushed her aside and made off again.

However the officer refused to give up and pursued him again, this time completing the arrest at the third attempt after he had clambered onto the roof of an industrial estate. The man was ultimately jailed and last night PC Goodridge was presented with The Sue Parker Award at Staffordshire Police’s annual awards ceremony held at Staffordshire County Showground.

The accolade, named after Susan Kathryn Parker who served on the force as a constable until dying from illness in 1978, is awarded to the female officer who has carried out the most ‘meritorious act’ or work in the previous year.

Inspector David Kelsall who nominated PC Goodridge, said: “The determination, bravery and commitment of PC Goodridge is outstanding and led to a prison sentence for the suspect. PC Goodridge’s commitment is unwavering for which she is a credit to Staffordshire Police.”


It was one of 18 awards handed out to officers on the night ranging from acts of heroism to general commitment and dedication.

Among them were two PCSOs who helped save a vulnerable woman's life have been awarded for their bravery.

Emily Sharp and Karen Willis were tasked with locating a high-risk missing person who intended to kill herself.

PCSO Karen Willis


They had information that the woman was in the Longdon area, near Cannock Chase, and set about planning a route to try and find the victim and her car.

Before long they came across the vehicle where the woman was sitting motionless in the driver's seat.

PCSOs Sharp and Willis immediately commenced CPR and thankfully the woman started breathing again.

They picked up the High Sheriff's Millennium Vase which acknowledges meritorious acts including those of bravery and excellence in the last year.

Chief Constable Gareth Morgan said: "It’s a real privilege to be hosting my first force awards and celebrating with colleagues who exemplify our values for hard work, integrity, care and compassion.

"I’m proud to be recognising such great work in the service of the public we serve. I would like to congratulate them all for their professionalism, dedication and service."

The full list of awards

The Lord Lieutenant’s Award - PC Stephen Windridge (Lichfield)

The High Sheriff’s Millennium Vase - PCSO Emily Sharp and PCSO Karen Willis (Cannock)

The PC John Taylor Memorial Award - Armed Response Team Shift One

The Elsie Ashley Award - PCSO Lauren Drew (Staffs Moorlands)

The Equality and Diversity Award - PCSO Annette Powell (Staffs Moorlands)

The Sue Parker Award - PC Claire Goodridge (Stafford)

The David Beech Award for Local Policing - PC Matthew Holding (Longton)

The Christopher James Award - Longton Neighbourhood Team Shift Two (Longton)

The Josephine Cotterill Award - Mrs Helen Hollis

The David Pearsall Award for PCSO of the Year - PCSO Peter Johnson (Staffs Moorlands)

The Nick Tempest Award - S Chief Insp Janet Riley (Longton)

Investigative Services Award - DS Jonathan Bradbury (Investigative Services)

The Staffordshire Police Unison Award - Debra Hayes (Burton-on-Trent)

The Problem Solving/Leadership Award - PC Collette Harrison (Burton-on-Trent)

PCC Volunteer of the Year Award - Mrs Sharon Trigg and Miss Victoria Montford

The Safeguarding Award - Mrs Sharon Coates and Mrs Sarah Hutchinson

The John Giffard Sports Award - PC Colin Gay and PCSO Michelle Chadwick

The Chief Constable’s Lifetime Achievement Award - DC Trudi Rogerson (Investigative Services)

Carl Jackson

By Carl Jackson

Local Democracy Reporting Service


Top Stories


More from the Express & Star

UK & International News